The winemaking life

Sun-drenched and protected by a quiet corner of the valley, the vineyards of the SCHMID WETLI Winery are nestled on the southern slopes of the villages of Berneck and Au, from where a vista opens up across the vast plain of the Rhine valley of St. Gallen. As if that were not enough, after acquiring the Lutz family winery in 2013, SCHMID WETLI is now able to pursue state-of-the-art winegrowing in Appenzell.

With a mixture of passion and determination, Kaspar Wetli Sr. and his sons make a vital contribution with their nearly 18 hectares of vineyards to preserving the culture of winegrowing. Vintage for vintage, this culture brings forth a variety of magnificent wines of the highest quality. It is a culture to which the Wetli family dedicates itself with heart and soul – and plenty of joy.

Grapes need time to ripen and develop their typical fruit note and characteristic colour. Only when the vintner senses that the grapes are ready will he harvest and press them, allowing them to mature in barrels made of native woods into the best of wines. A traditional operation like SCHMID WETLI also needs time – to look back on what has gone before and to look forward to the future. Winemaking requires sensitivity and the courage to innovate. By investing in the latest technology, the Wetlis have demonstrated both. Wine is time, because time makes the wine.

A great deal of passion and even more lifeblood go into making the wonderful product of wine, and loving attention to detail becomes more apparent with every sip. The process of winemaking places high demands on the vintner, in particular finely honed sensibilities, sensitivity and sure instincts. In other words: the grapes get exactly the same attention a woman desires.

The knowledge of this enhanced degree of empathy is one of the numerous and invaluable strengths of the winemakers’ wives. Susanne and Melanie support their husbands and sometimes have their backs, which are often loaded down with a basketful of grapes. With a great deal of charm, the women attend to sales, pouring customers a taste of the fine wines to put a smile on their faces.

The new and modern extension that now nestles up to the heritage building was the product of architectural skill as well as the client’s wish to unite proven traditions with modern innovation to create a coherent whole. So when guests now gather together in a festive mood, tradition is just as much a part of the celebration as is the homely ambience that can be found everywhere at the SCHMID WETLI Winery.

From a convivial wine tasting to a tour of the wine cellars during which the Wetlis offer personal insights into the winemaking life … from a wedding in the close family circle to a top-class customer event … from the inner courtyard that forms a link between old and new, to the small but elegant and above all contemporary tasting room, to the cosy wine bar: The Wetli family of winemakers knows just how to pamper guests with delectable wines and culinary delights from the best regional establishments.

SCHMID WETLI has always been a “family affair”. Founded in 1860 by Samuel Thurnheer and carried on by his son-in-law Jakob Schmid Sr., the winery passed into the hands of Jakob Schmid Jr. in 1970. He proceeded to consistently expand and modernise operations – together with Kaspar Wetli Sr. The latter and his wife, Susanne, have run SCHMID WETLI AG since 1994 with complete devotion to wine and viniculture. With Kaspar Jr., Matthias and Adrian, all of whom learned and studied oenology and viticulture from the ground up, the next generation is once more secured. What a joy it is that the three young winemakers have dedicated themselves to carrying forth the long-established family tradition of a love for wine.

A family business based on tradition – this, too, is a joy.

La vie de viticulteur

Baignés de soleil et blottis dans un coin de vallée, les vignobles du domaine SCHMID WETLI s’étendent sur les coteaux méridionaux des communes de Berneck et d’Au, d’où l’on peut admirer la vaste plaine de la vallée du Rhin de Saint-Gall. Depuis la reprise du domaine viticole de la famille Lutz en 2013, ils débordent aussi sur les verdoyantes collines de l’Appenzell, selon les mêmes principes de la viticulture moderne.

Animés d’une véritable passion pour leur vignoble de quelque 18 hectares, Kaspar Wetli Sr. et ses fils contribuent ainsi pour une part non négligeable au maintien et à la promotion de la culture viticole dans leur région. Une culture qui, millésime après millésime, produit une grande variété de vins de la plus haute qualité. Une culture à laquelle la famille Wetli s’est entièrement dévouée – pour le plus grand bonheur de tous.

Les raisins ont besoin de temps pour mûrir et développer leur note fruitée et leur couleur caractéristique. Et ce n’est que lorsque l’intuition du viticulteur le lui dicte, qu’il les récolte, les presse et les vinifie dans les meilleures barriques en bois local. Une entreprise traditionnelle comme SCHMID WETLI s’inscrit dans le temps long. Dans cet esprit, l’expérience compte tout autant que la capacité d’innovation. En investissant dans les technologies de vinification les plus modernes, les Wetli ont su faire preuve de ces deux qualités. Le vin, c’est le temps, parce que c’est le temps qui fait le vin.

Le vin est un produit merveilleux, un concentré de passion – et l’amour du détail grandit avec chaque gorgée. La viticulture exige beaucoup du vigneron, en particulier de la sensibilité, de la finesse et du doigté. Des qualités typiquement féminines.

La maîtrise de cette forme supérieure d’empathie est l’un des nombreux atouts des femmes de viticulteurs. Ce sont Susanne et Mélanie qui soutiennent leurs maris et leur prêtent la main lors des vendanges. Avec charme, les femmes s’occupent de la vente, offrent aux clients des dégustations exquises et n’ont pas leurs pareilles pour les séduire et illuminer leurs visages.

Il a fallu autant de compétences architecturales pour adosser le nouveau bâtiment à la bâtisse historique que pour respecter le souhait du maître d’ouvrage de fusionner harmonieusement l’ancien et le nouveau. Et lorsque les hôtes se retrouvent dans une ambiance festive, ils apprécient tout particulièrement la chaleur et la convivialité si caractéristiques du domaine SCHMID WETLI.

De la dégustation conviviale aux visites guidées de la cave, dans laquelle les Wetli vous offrent un tableau personnel du monde de la viticulture. Du mariage dans un cercle familial à l’événement client de premier ordre. De la cour intérieure, qui représente le lien entre l’ancien et le nouveau, à la petite, mais splendide salle de dégustation tout à la fois moderne et accueillante. La famille de viticulteurs Wetli sait charmer ses hôtes avec des vins fins et des plats de haute gastronomie régionale.

SCHMID WETLI a toujours été une affaire de famille. Fondé en 1860 par Samuel Thurnheer, le domaine est repris par son gendre Jakob Schmid Sr., lequel le transmet en 1970 à son fils Jakob Schmid Jr. Avec Kaspar Wetli Sr., celui-ci va moderniser et agrandir l’exploitation. Kaspar Wetli et son épouse Susanne dirigent depuis 1994 le domaine SCHMID WETLI AG avec un dévouement total au vin et à la culture vinicole. Avec Kaspar Jr., Matthias et Adrian, qui tous trois ont appris et étudié l’œnologie et la viticulture depuis leur plus jeune âge, la relève est une fois de plus assurée. Quelle chance que les trois jeunes viticulteurs se soient dévoués à l’amour du vin selon une tradition familiale bien établie.

Une entreprise familiale héritière et garante d’une longue tradition, c’est aussi cela le bonheur.